凹空间(Gallery ALL)

MY朝代系列

Michael Young 作品于2018在凹空间(Gallery ALL)展出

设计师Michael Young为著名的初创摇篮艺廊的凹空间(Gallery ALL)创作花瓶系列,以泡沫铝材打造,作品的形相和润色,其创作意念体现中国道家哲学的五行元素。

延绵历史长河的延续,见证因果循环的互为相生,本系列以作品重塑其中的过程:木盛火、火剩土、土载金、金聚水、水养木,万物果报而循环不息。

本系列采用繁复工艺,锻造固态透孔金属物料,并以阳极电镀为成品上色,其工艺普遍用于手机外壳制作,复杂的工艺操作,让产生的成品每件都独一无二,每件的透孔分布皆尽不同,着色的瑕疵赋予专属的纹理,本作品系列,延续创新的工艺,一脉相承于三藩市现代艺术博物馆的永久展藏“金石”(Metal Rock)和“氧座” (Oxygen Chair)的工艺手法。

 

凹空间(Gallery ALL)致力于向公众和收藏家推出最前沿、最具实验性质的艺术作品展览,通过对材料的探索和实验测试来推动设计的界限,找到技术、设计以及建筑的共通点。画廊同时拥有在北京和图桑两个生产基地,具有独特的研发技术和生产能力,以推动渐进生产,顶尖技艺,并提供给设计师更全面的平台进行设计、制造和展示。

MY Dynasty

Michael Young for Gallery ALL, 2018

Michael Young has created a unique collection of Aluminium foam vases for renowned art incubator Gallery ALL. Inspired by Chinese Taoism, each shape and colour represents one of the 5 key elements of the Wu Sing philosophy.

As a group, they represent historical continuity, as well as representing the cycle of creation: wood feeds fire, fire creates earth (ash), earth bears metal, metal collects water, water nourishes wood….and the cycle begins again.

Using a complex process to achieve this porous yet solid metallic material Michael was then able to colour it through anodizing, a process usually associated with mobile phone finishes. The inherent difficulty in controlling this process means that no two vases will ever be the same, be it in its cellular layout or the regularity or imperfections found in the colourisation. This collection is a continuation of the processes used in the Metal Rock collection as well as the Oxygen Chair, currently in San Francisco Museum of Modern Art’s permanent collection.

Gallery ALL is committed to introducing the public and collectors to the most cutting-edge and experimental design collections, pushes the boundaries of design through the exploration and experimentation of materials, intersecting the disciplines of architecture, technology, and design. With fabrication facilities in both Beijing and Tucson, Gallery ALL has unique research and production capabilities. This serves to encourage progressive manufacturing practices, facilitates expert craftsmanship, and offers the designer a more holistic approach to design, fabrication, and display.